concentration head,
Fine art expert, art curator

The concentration "Contemporary Art Studies" offers you, instead of the position of observer or researcher who remembers facts and summarizes them, to follow into a space filled with both theoretical and practical courses, where the critical and the creative coexist, forming a difficult but open field. In the theoretical part, creative and analytical tasks will await you, and the practical one uses a mechanism that allows students to become more involved in the learning process and literally experience art and create it on their own.

concentration head,
Master degree in Theatre art, theatre director

Contemporary theater is a complex synthetic phenomenon that involves various types of arts and means of expression. Today, the boundaries between theater and other types of art are largely blurred, and traditional, "static" ideas about the nature of theater are blurring  in contemporary theater, video art and installation, multimedia and photography are widely used.

The Contemporary Theater concentration is a synthetic and interdisciplinary experiment that combines theory and practice, analysis and implementation of creative ideas. In the course of training, students will study significant theoretical texts, participate in discussions and acquire practical skills.

concentration head,
PhD in History

We live in an era of urbanization. If in 1900, 13% of the world's population lived in cities, in 2000, almost 47%, and today it is already 55%. According to the UN forecast, by 2050, townspeople will make up 68% of the world population. Does this mean that soon everyone will live in cities?

The modern city is an extremely complex system. As the author of the concept of universal law on the city, the French sociologist Henri Lefevre wrote, this is a place of differences, this is work and creation in which all its inhabitants took part and participate. Urban development is often determined by the points of influence, which are formed in unexpected places and turn out to be a source of forces that can change the balance in the system. According to American Jay Forrester, the author of the book “The Dynamics of the Development of a City”, a long-term reaction to an administrative innovation often turns out to be the exact opposite of the expected results.

concentration head,
Master of laws

For a long time, it was thought that the biological nature of people predetermines their subsequent life. Gender as a category of analysis critically rethinks this idea, since it assumes that there is also a social construction of sex. Gender norms determine what values and rules of behavior are assigned to men and women in different societies. Creating ideas about "correct" (normative) gender does not occur exclusively at the level of individuals or families. In a society of any type, an inextricable link is formed between gender representations and social, cultural and political processes.

concentration head,
Historian

Public History is a relatively new field of studies which dwells on history practices outside of specialized academic settings. We focus on history representations in the public area: in pop culture and media, art, cinema, literature, museums etc.

In Belarus history is primarily connected to the idea of objectivity, supported by the existing intellectual tradition. However, today we have to both reconsider these representations and avoid the other extremity: the idea that we always face only arbitrary handling of the past. Moreover, most of the time we are lacking critical approach to the historical data we come across on a daily basis.

concentration head,
PhD in Philosophy

Concentration courses "Contemporary Society, Ethics and Politics" are aimed not only at introducing into the range of these issues, but also at acquaintance with those concepts and theories that make the positions of those who argue about them convincing and relevant. The courses are united by the task of discussing the processes that are taking place in the modern world, as well as the task of forming critical thinking in relation to different possibilities of their interpretation.

Concentration courses will focus on the phenomena of freedom, community and justice, civic and political participation, ideology and power, gender identities, new technologies and mediatization, globalization and human rights, environmental challenges and the imagination of a world without social and socio-natural hierarchies. An important role will be played by the study of how the local and global, Belarusian and world contexts relate today, how connections are established between the European, (post)Soviet and national elements of our time.

concentration head,
PhD in Philology, Cultural Studies Scholar

Mass culture is one of the key concepts that determined the shape of the XX century. Reflections on its forms and structure allow for a deeper understanding of what happened to society in the XX century. How did mass culture absorb ideologies and how did they resist it? What was its specificity under totalitarian regimes and can we talk about "Soviet mass culture"? How did it translate and reinforce stereotypes and how to popularize meaningful philosophical ideas?

руководительница концентрации,
Магистр социологии

Где начинается гендер и как он входит в нашу жизнь? С каких позиций его можно анализировать? Может ли человек выйти за границы своего гендера? Влияет ли пол на успех в искусстве? Нужна ли государству гендерная политика и в чем могут заключаться ее недостатки? И как долго нам ждать действительного равноправия полов и признания всех сексуальностей?

Концентрация «Гендерные исследования» включает в себя образовательные курсы, публичные лекции для широкой аудитории и практические воркшопы. Слушатели и слушательницы курсов узнают, какие изменения произошли в политике, искусстве, представлениях о сексуальности в связи с трансформацией гендерных отношений в XX-XXI веке. Практические воркшопы познакомят с организациями и инициативами, которые работают с гендерными темами в Беларуси.

руководительница концентрации,
кандидат исторических наук

Мы живем в эпоху урбанизации. Если в 1900 году в городах проживало 13% населения планеты, в 2000 году – почти 47%, а сегодня – уже 55%. По прогнозу ООН к 2050 году горожане составят 68 % мирового населения. Значит ли это, что скоро все будут жить в городах?

Современный город – крайне сложная система. Как писал автор концепции всеобщего права на город, французский социолог Анри Лефевр, это место различий, это труд и творение, в котором принимали и принимают участие все его жители. Развитие городов часто определяется точками влияния, которые образуются в неожиданных местах и оказываются источником сил, способных изменить баланс в системе. По словам американского Джея Форрестера, автора книги «Динамика развития города», отдаленная реакция на какое-либо административное нововведение часто оказывается прямо противоположной ожидаемым  результатам.

соруководительница концентрации,
искусствовед, художественный куратор
соруководительница концентрации,
магистр театрального искусства, режиссер, театральный педагог

Современное (contemporary) искусство и театр — сложные синтетические явления, которые задействуют различные виды искусств и выразительных средств. Сегодня между театром и современным искусством стираются границы, а традиционные, «статичные» представления об их природе размываются. В современном театре используются видео-арт и инсталляция, мультимедиа и фотография, а в современном искусстве — театральные практики, элементы сontemporary dance и другие.

Концентрация «Современное искусство и театр» представляет собой синтетический и междисциплинарный эксперимент, который сочетает теорию и практику, анализ и реализацию творческих идей. В ходе обучения студенты и студентки будут изучать знаковые теоретические тексты, участвовать в дискуссиях и приобретать практические навыки.

руководитель концентрации,
историк

Публичная история — это относительно новая область знания, в рамках которой мы попытаемся понять, как история может функционировать за пределами академических институций. Большое внимание будет уделяться репрезентациям истории в публичной сфере, т.е. в массовой культуре и медиа, искусстве, кино, литературе, музеях и так далее.

В Беларуси представления о том, что такое история, часто строятся на идее ее «объективности», опирающейся на сложившуюся интеллектуальную традицию. Но сегодня мы должны не только пересмотреть эти представления, но и избежать другой крайности — идеи о том, что мы всегда сталкиваемся всего лишь с произвольной трактовкой прошлого. Кроме того, нам часто не хватает знаний для критического подхода к той исторической информации, с которой мы сталкиваемся практически ежедневно.

руководительница концентрации,
кандидатка философских наук

В современных обществах — и беларусское общество тут не исключение — ведутся острые споры: об отношениях традиций и современных стилей жизни, о траекториях национализма и глобализации, о гендерных идентичностях и чувствительности к различиям, о генных технологиях и все большем проникновении интернета в нашу жизнь. Как относиться к подобным дискуссиям? Как разобраться в аргументах спорящих сторон и сформировать свое собственное мнение?

Курсы концентрации «Современное общество, этика и политика» нацелены не только на введение в круг этих вопросов, но и на знакомство с теми понятиями и теориями, которые делают позиции спорящих убедительными и актуальными. Достаточно ли, словами философа Поля Рикера, проявлять в нашей жизни «беспокойство о ближнем»? Или же нужно думать еще и о «справедливости для каждого человека», то есть задумываться и заботиться об общественном пространстве, праве каждого и каждой на своеобразие, а также о публичности? Поскольку, как когда-то считал Аристотель, а во второй половине ХХ века писали Ханна Арендт, Юрген Хабермас и многие другие философы, именно благодаря такой заботе люди в полной мере реализуют самих себя.

руководительница концентрации,
кандидат филологических наук, культуролог

Массовая культура — одно из ключевых понятий, определивших облик ХХ века. Размышления о ее формах и структуре позволяют глубже понять то, что происходило с обществом в ХХ веке. Как массовая культура вбирала в себя идеологии и как сопротивлялась им? Какова была ее специфика при тоталитарных режимах и можно ли говорить о «советской массовой культуре»? Как она транслировала и укрепляла стереотипы и каким образом популяризировала значимые философские идеи?